Wed, Feb 18, 2015 1:00 PM

ICC Americas are proud to announce the winners of the 2014 ICC Development Awards for the Americas Region.

Surinaamse Cricket Bond (SCB) has taken out the award for Best Overall Cricket Development Programme

Building on their hard work over the past 5 years, Surinaamse Cricket Bond took another step forward in 2014, taking a holistic approach to development. This strategy enabled the development of staff and local cricketing facilities, which was rewarded with strong growth in the participation numbers, junior and senior playing number along with healthy growth in women's cricket. The ultimate reward for Suriname was their promotion to ICC Americas Division 1 for their U19 boys side, while the Senior Men's team won promotion to ICC Americas Division 1 and World Cricket League 6 after a successful ICC Americas Division 2 campaign.

Brian Hale was awarded with Best Spirit of Cricket Award for over 40 years of significant contribution to Canadian Cricket. Brian has overseen the development of some of Canada best national players, while also using cricket as a tool to incorporate immigrants into the community and a new way of living, regardless of their abilities.

On-line cricket web-site canadacricket.com stated, “Brian's work in cricket has taught his students discipline, confidence and life skills so much so that once they are done with the academy and school, most have gone on to further their education. These students have in turn started to contribute to society. The discipline that the students learn while at the Toronto Cricket Academy is taken to their homes and to help to build their communities.”

Ramlal Hiralal, former Chairman of the Surinaamse Cricket Bond awarded with Lifetime Service Award. After serving as a chairman for several years of one of the largest clubs in Suriname, he was elected as a member of the Surinaamse Cricket Bond in 1970. In 1980 he was elected as the Chairman of the Board, a title which he held till 2004. Under his leadership, the SCB became a member of the International Cricket Council, and Suriname entered their first recognised international competition. Having completed that event, Mr. Hiralal handed over the reins to current President Raj Narain.

Russell Richardson has been recognised as the Volunteer of the Year for a variety of roles throughout the year, including his immense work for ICC World Cricket League 3 event in Bermuda. Russell spent countless hours preparing, during and post tournament, ensuring all aspects were under control in the delivery of a first class international tournament. Russell also volunteered as the team manager, event organizer, player development officer and as a coach for the U19 Bermudian national team.

Kellie Smith of the Bermuda Cricket Board was awarded with Women's Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes' award for her ongoing work to develop a grassroots cricket program designed to reignite Women's cricket in Bermuda. Engaging over 360 girls from 15 schools to participate in school programs, with 180 participating in junior and middle school competitions, Kellie also formed a girls only 8 & under team in the local competition.

Asociación de Cricket Argentino won the Photo of the Year with the below photo taken during a coaching session in the streets of Barracas, Buenos Aires, as part of ACA's Social Responsibility Project “Caacupe”. This photo encapsulates how cricket can be utilised as a tool for integration, and a means for providing underprivileged children with options for a healthy life.

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions