Suriname promoted in a thriller!

Sun, Aug 17, 2014 3:00 AM

Suriname promoted in a thriller!
Suriname edge out a gallant Argentina to win promotion to U19 Division 1

The decisive day of the U19 Division 2 Championship was filled with plenty of excitement as Argentina went into the day leading Suriname by 0.4 on Net Run Rate (NRR). Windsor Park hosted Argentina and Bahamas which saw game favorites, Argentina win the toss and electing to bowl. Altuzarra was lethal with the ball finishing with figures of 4 for 9; however it was the Bahamas captain Jagroo who claimed man of the match honors, in a losing side, showing plenty of fight with the bat. Argentina won by 9 wickets.

In the other morning game Cayman Islands won the toss, electing to bat, and got off to a solid start before falling to some quality bowling by Suriname's Holder, claiming 5 scalps for only 9 runs. Chasing a target of 53, Suriname opener went to work to set the foundation for a comfortable 6 wicket victory. Holder's 5 wicket haul saw him presented the man of the match award.

With wins for both Argentina and Suriname in their morning matches the winner was to be decided by the last game of the Championship. Argentina won the toss at Haynes Oval and sent Cayman Islands to the crease who could only managed 53 with the bat. In reply, needing quick runs, Argentina came out swinging to reach the allotted target in only 7 overs.

In the last game at Windsor Park, Suriname locked horns with the Bahamas hoping to improve their NRR with a big win over an inexperienced Bahamas side. After losing the toss Suriname turned their fortunes thumping a mammoth 232 in 20 overs. Holder was the star of the innings blasting 129 from 71 balls. Bahamas were never in the hunt, consistently losing wickets to be dismissed for their lowest total of the tournament.

This victory gave Suriname a much needed NRR boost, ultimately pushing them above Argentina and crowning them champions of the ICC Americas Pepsi U19 Division 2 Championships.

Tournament awards:
Batsmen of the tournament: Joshua Holder (Suriname) – 219 runs
Wicket-keeper of the tournament: Tomas Marinozzi (Argentina)
Bowler of the tournament: Joshua Holder (Suriname) 13 wickets
MVP: Joshua Holder (Suriname)

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions