Argentina take out ICC Americas Division 3 Championship

Sun, Mar 9, 2014 3:11 AM

Argentina take out ICC Americas Division 3 Championship
Alejandro Ferguson scored 76 in the final two matches and became the Top Score of the Tournament.

Hernan Fennell finished as with the most wickets with 11 in 4 matches.

The third and decisive day of the ICC Americas Division 3 Championship commenced with Alejandro Ferguson winning the toss and electing to bat, like in every game of the tournament.

The locals sent Bernardo Irigoyen and Marc Rogers to the pitch, while Panama opened the bowling with Ebrahim Vhora from the Club House end and Abdulla Bham from the Polo field end.

Argentina´s run rate in the first couple of overs was really low, scoring 14 runs in 3.1 overs until B.Irigoyen´s wicket fell being caught at second slip by Sufyan Tarajya. Skipper A.Fergunson was the batsman in charge of guiding his team to an acceptable total.

He was at the crease for thirteen overs, building two very important partnerships. With Rogers (7) they stroke 34 runs of 25 balls. After that, Hernan Williams walked back to the pavilion without runs, leaving the Ferguson brothers in charge of their country.

Pablo (21) and Alejandro (42) scored together a controlled 47 runs in 6.3 overs, leaving Argentina with 98 runs and 30 balls to finish the match.

Mahmud Bhana, with a tidy second spell (3-0-13-2), eliminated the Ferguson brothers, leaving Matías Paterlini (27 of 16) and Pedro Arrighi (13 of 7) on the pitch. With 41 runs of five overs in the last wicket, Argentina finished the inning with 146 runs on the board and five wickets in hand.

Bowling best figures were made by M.Bhana (2-22) and S.Tarayia (2-29). The untidy bowling of Panama helped to increase the total of the local team , conceding 23 extras.

Ten minutes later, Soyab Chohan and Samir Bhakta opened the batting for Panama.

Esteban Mac Dermott and Hernan Fennell started the match with one wicket each, taking batsman number 2 and 3 respectively.

For eleven overs S.Chohan fought to establish his team in a good position making two interesting partnerships. He scored 29 runs with Irfan Tarajia (16) for the third wicket and 33 with Tarick Daya (15) for the fourth one.

After S.Chohan got out caught by E.Mac Dermott in Pedro Arreghi spell (25 runs of 43 balls), wickets fell very quickly. He got a hat trick ball immediately, bowled a wide and then he got his third wicket (3-19).

P. Arrighi finished his spell one over later, letting Pablo Ferguson (1-0-2-2) take two important wickets and conclude a partnership of 23 runs between Ibrahim Vhora and wicket keeper Zaheer Bengali (11).

Twelve runs of that partnership were wides bowled by Pedro Arrighi in his last over.

Panama couldn´t score of the Argentine bowling. In the over 18th Gary Savage got Abdulla Bham leg before wicket, eliminating all Panama batsman for 110 and proclaiming Argentina Champion of the ICC Americas Division 3 Championship with one game to be played versus Belize.

By three o´clock in the afternoon, Belize and Argentina captains were on the pitch ready to flip the coin with the umpires and chose a side. For first time in the Tournament, Alejandro Ferguson lost the toss and the Belize captain elected to bat.

The local team opened the bowling with the same players they did in the morning match. Hernan Fennell had a brilliant first two over spell, getting two wickets for four runs.

Belize tried hard to get some runs, but the Argentine bowled sharp and precise. The best personal batting score was stroke by Emmanuel Mac Fadzean (18 of 19 balls). Eight of the eleven Central Americans couldn´t score more than 10 runs.

Esteban Mac Dermott (3-24), Agustín Husain (3-24) and a very economical Hernan Fennell (3-4), sentenced the match for only 101 runs in 17.3 overs.

For the second inning, Argentina changed the batting order, promoting Pedro Arrighi from number 7 up to number 1, opening with Bernardo Yrigoyen.

Locals chased the target without looking for extravagant boundaries. Playing correctly and just putting the ball through the gaps, they were 70 for 2 in 12 overs. The opening batsman did the whole job. B.Irigoyen got of 25 runs, while P.Arrighi stroke 28 runs out of 35 balls.

After Hernan Williams was ducked, Alejandro Ferguson and his brother Pablo (11), nearly ended the job, building the last important partnership of the tournament (31 runs).

Missing one run to finish the match and the tournament, A.Ferguson (34 of 26) got out caught by E.Mc Fadzean. David Mauro walked into the crease, left two balls and in the third one he faced in the third one, hit through the covers and ran the last run.

Mykelt Anthony was the Belize best bowler giving 19 runs and taking one wicket in four over.

Argentina reached 102 runs in 17.3 overs, winning the match and finding the victory for fourth time in a row. The local team is the new unbeaten ICC Americas Division 3 Champion.

The Man of the Match: Pedro Arrighi
Top Scorer of the Tournament: Alejandro Ferguson (140 runs).
Wicket Taker of the Tournament: Hernan Fennell (11 wickets).
Best wicket-keeper of the Tournament: Alejandro Ferguson.

Brief Scores Day 3:
Match 5: Argentina 146-5-7, 20 overs (A.Ferguson 42, M.Paterlini 27*, M.Bhama 2-22, S.Tarajya 2-29).
Panama 110 all out, 18.4 overs (S.Chohan 25, I.Tarajia 16, P.Arrighi 3-19, G.Savage 2-8).
Argentina won by 36 runs.
Match 6: Belize 101 all out, 17.3 overs (E.Mc Fadzean 18, D.Sutherland 12, E.Mac Dermott 3-24, H.Fennell 3-4, A.Husain 3-24)
Argentina 102-4, 17.3 overs (A.Ferguson 34, P.Arrighi 28, M.Anthony 1-19, H.Banner 1-23).
Argentina won by 6 wickets.

For more information including full scorecards from all matches in this tournament please go to:

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions