USA and Bermuda Certain for Promotion to ICC WT20 Qualifier

Sun, Mar 24, 2013 2:17 AM

USA and Bermuda Certain for Promotion to ICC WT20 Qualifier
In the days first game the Bahamas, fresh from their second victory of the tournament yesterday, won the toss and invited Bermuda to bat. A couple of early strikes reduced Bermuda to 21-2 only for David Hemp and Janerio Tucker to settle in and give an exhibition of T20 batting, running well and finding the boundary. They added another 134 before Hemp was next out for 53, although it may have looked different had he not been dropped by the keeper on 13. The innings closed at 168-3. The only bowler to shine being Albert Peters with 2-18.

In reply the Bahamas played well and passed 140 for the second game in succession, Julio Jemison and Jonathan Barry both scoring 43 as they finished 23 short of victory on 145-7. Greg Maybury and Malachi Jones both picked up a couple of wickets each with Rodney Trott and Jacobi Robinson claiming one each. Once again Janerio Tucker picked up the man of the match for his 79 not out.

In the second match of the day it was all to play for in a game that could have a major influence on who was to go down to Division 2. Suriname won the toss and decided to bat first and after losing an early wicket they scored steadily with Arun Gokoel and Mohindra Boodram passing 20 and then Troy Dudnath finding the boundary later on for 60 in 31 balls. The innings closed at 138-6 with Alessandro Morris being the best of the bowlers with 3-18. The Ebanks brothers provided the tournaments champagne moment in the field when Roland ran round the boundary to take a catch and then threw it to his brother as he toppled over the boundary!!

In reply Cayman lost an early wicket but the Ebanks brothers gave some hope with scores of 27 (Kervin Ebanks) and 33 (Roland Ebanks) but a steady flow of wickets saw them enter the last over needing 19. Only 9 came from it and Suriname emerged winners by 10 runs. Mohindra Boodram and Sauid Drepaul picked up 3 wickets each. Troy Dudnath was voted man of the match.

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions