Suriname records first points of the tournament

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 4:32 AM

Suriname records first points of the tournament
In the first game of the day Cayman Islands won the toss and invited Bermuda to bat first. Bermuda put together a superb T20 innings losing only 3 wickets and posting a total of 169. All of the four contributed, Dion Stovell and Stephen Outerbridge put up 81 for the first wicket before Stovell went for 32. Outerbridge top scored with 59 and Jamerio Tucker continued his rich vein of form with another quickfire innings of 46. For the Cayman Islands, Alessandro Morris was the pick of the bowlers with 1-20 from his 4 overs.

It was always going to be tough to knock off a target of 170 and the loss of regular wickets meant that the Cayman Islands never seriously challenged the outcome. Ian Rotsey top scored with 32 and Kevin Bazil scored 26 but Greg Maybury with 2-21 and Janerio Tucker with 3-22 kept the Cayman Islands in check. Tucker also bagged a catch and was unanimously voted man of the match as Bermuda ran out winners by 46 runs.

In their second game of the day Bermuda won the toss and elected to bat first and once again their top order did their job by scoring the majority of the runs as they ran up a total of 133-8. They were also helped by a number of dropped catches along the way. Dion Stovell 35, David Hemp 26 and in form Janerio Tucker 36 were the main scorers. For USA Danial Ahmed with 3-26 and Ryan Corns with 2-8 from 2 overs took the bowling honours.

In the USA reply six players contributed double figures, Nicholas Standford top scoring with 36. Some good quick bowling from Malachi Jones kept Bermuda's hopes alive but in the end USA reached their target with 11 balls to spare. The umpires declared Malachi Jones as the man of the match.

At the Brian Piccolo Park Suriname recorded their first points of the tournament with a 20 run victory against the recently promoted Bahamas. Suriname won the toss and elected to bat first, but soon found themselves in trouble at 22-3 midway through the 6th over. The innings were built on a 46 run partnership between Shazam Ramjohn who had 32 from 30 balls and Sauid Drepaul with 19 from 17 balls. Charles Douglas also contributed with 25 runs and Radjeev Jagroep batting at number 10 made 13 not out to give the score some respectability and take Suriname to 121/9 from their allotted 20 overs.

In reply the Bahamians looked nervous, as the Surinamese bowlers and fielders did everything to throw away the game. The Big hitting lefthander Marc Taylor was dropped, no fewer than 3 times before the score had reached 20. Taylor went on to make (43) from 44 balls, and was eventually out via the run out route and effectively ended the hopes of the Bahamas winning the encounter. No other of the Bahamas batsman made any runs of significance as they ended 20 runs shy of the target. Sauid Drepaul took 4-29 from his 4 overs and was duly and deservedly adjudged the man of the match.

In the second game of the day at Brian Piccolo Park where both Suriname and the Cayman Islands were playing double headers, Suriname won the toss and elected to bat. They amassed 120-8 in 20 overs. The Suriname innings were built on the solid 47 runs from Arun Gokoel who hit three 4s and a 6 in his 51 balls faced. He was well supported by Sauid Drepaul as the pair put on 61 runs for the fouth wicket, and Vishwar Shaw who added 21 with three massive 6?s in the dying overs of the Suriname innings.

In reply Cayman were cruising at 39 without loss from 6.3 overs when the rain stopped play and the players had to leave the field. On resumption and with a revised target of 104 to win from 17 overs, the Cayman Islands found scoring difficult. The next 4.3 overs would only concede 12 runs as the Surinamese bowlers, lead by captain Mohindra Boodram, kept a tight rein on their opponents. Boodram would finish with 3-26 from his four overs including a hat trick, which earned him the man of the match. Suriname won by 7 runs D/L Method.

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions