Suriname cruise to victory to claim the ICC Americas Division 2 Championship

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 10:58 AM

Suriname cruise to victory to claim the ICC Americas Division 2 Championship
In the final playoff of the Americas Division 2 Championship, Suriname faced off against Panama in the finals at Snellenpark.

Suriname won the toss and elected to bat under the sunny conditions. Opener Mohindra Boodram got Suriname?s innings off to a fantastic start with a century score of 117 runs, while the other opener Deoraj Sewanan contributed 20. Boodram was eventually joined by forth batsman Arun Gokoel who made 96 runs, not out, and the two boasted a 149 run partnership.

Captain Vishaul Singh did not stay long with 12, while the MVP of the tournament Troy Dudnauth also ended with 12. Shazam Ramjohn ended the innings with 34 runs, not out. The Suriname squad ended with the daunting total of 356 runs in 50 overs for the loss of 4 only wickets.

Panama tried to reply, but some early wickets had upset the team. Opening batsman Nilesh Chakta made 27 runs, but the middle batsmen were not so fortunate. Rajesh Ahir made a good contribution with 32 runs, but could not avoid that his team left the field with a defeat. Suriname won the match and the ICC Americas Division 2 Championship. Suriname has earned the promotion to the ICC Americas Division 1 Championship in Florida.

Tournament Awards went to:
Most valuable Player: Troy Dudnath Suriname
Most Runs: Garvin Bruno Turks & Caicos
Most Wickets: Mykelt Anthony Belize
Best Wicket Keeper: Guilherme Lefevre Brazil

Championship and promotion to ICC Americas Division
1st place: Suriname
2nd Place: Panama
3rd Place: Belize

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions