Mexico Wins ICC Division 4 T20 Championship

Sat, Jun 19, 2010 11:03 PM

Mexico completed a clean sweep in the ICC Americas Division 4 Championship with a comprehensive 76 run victory over Costa Rica on the final day on competition.
The division 4 one day champions were sent into bat after Costa Rica won the toss and elected to field on another overcast morning here in Mexico.
However this did not restrict the Mexicans from amassing a total of 168 for 8 wickets from their 20 overs. This was thanks mainly to Deepak Khurana who tops scored with 56 runs from 35 balls, a performance that earned him the man of the match award.
Costa Rica’s runs chase never gained momentum, and after the loss of centurion, in the one day game, Ben Smith, for 21 from 14 balls the inevitable was merely a matter of how much they could achieve from their 20 overs.
Costa Rica finally finished on 84 for 8 and conceded the T20 Championship to Mexico to go with the One Day series win they achieved here a couple days earlier.
Mexico captain, Tushar Gupta, collected another two wickets to go with his 13 in the tournament previously and won the bowling award, while Ben Smith of Costa Rica amassed 201 runs to collect the batting award, and along with his 9 wickets he was judged the tournament MVP.

Live Matches

ICC Americas Members

ICC Regions